Wednesday, November 17, 2010

Haynesville Movie to Premiere on CNBC

The audience for Gregory Kallenberg's documentary "Haynesville" will grow exponentially on November 23 when it premieres on CNBC at 9 p.m. EST/8 p.m. CST.  It will be replayed 10 p.m., midnight and 1 a.m.  It will also be played on Sunday November 28 at 10 p.m. EST/9 p.m. CST.

Congrats to the "Haynesville" team - break a leg!

2 comments:

Anonymous said...

Wall St. media front tells the people why they should accept a drilling technique in their backyards that has been known to be hazardous to human health.

I'll see this movie, but I'd recommend that people who view this also watch Gasland and other films critical to the practices being employed.

Robert Hutchinson said...

You are missing an important point: the drilling technique of hydraulic fracturing has NOT "been known to be hazardous to human health." That is simply not true.

It is important to remember that the documentary "Haynesville" is just that, a documentary. It is not a news piece. It focuses on the changes in the lives of a few people and communities as potential drilling riches come to town. It is not a point/counterpoint debate on gas.

Same with Gasland. It is a one-sided, opinion film. More than "Haynesville" it is an advocacy piece with a rallying cry. "Haynesville" is more of a sociological film (although it is kind to natural gas in the energy big picture).

I think the fact that these are documentaries gets lost with the viewing audience. I know it did with Gasland on HBO. Many Gasland fans put the movie up as a statement of fact and a counterpoint to "Haynesville" when it made absolutely no effort to show the other side of the debate.

I hope CNBC presents "Haynesville" in the proper light as a documentary and not an attempt to speak the gospel. But given the negative light cast upon natural gas drilling in the Northeast these days, I predict people are going to go ape shit and flood CNBC's web site with hate mail.